Slovenčina                                                              22.05.2024, 23:44
web updates

Koza selected for EFA Selection 2015

The European Film Academy chose Koza (d. Ivan Ostrochovský) for the EFA Selection for 28th European Film Awards. Although the film was not the Slovak National Nomination EFA decided to include the film on this year’s selection list of 52 films recommended for a nomination for the European Film Awards.

In the 20 countries with the most EFA Members, film academy members voted for one national film directly into the selection list. This year, the Slovak Film and Television Academy (SFTA) nominated two Slovak films for the European Film Awards - feature fiction debut Children by Jaro Vojtek and documentary also directed by Vojtek So far, so near. To complete the list, a Selection Committee consisting of EFA Board Members and invited experts Jonas Holmberg (Göteborg FF, Sweden), Paz Lazaro (Berlinale Panorama, Germany / Spain), Christophe Leparc (Quinzaine des Réalisateurs, France), Alik Shpilyuk (Odessa FF, Ukraine), Elma Tataragic (Sarajevo FF, Bosnia & Herzegovina) has included further films, among them also title Koza (d. Ivan Ostrochovský).

Koza was premiered at Berlinale 2015 and since that has been successfully trotting the festival circuit (Best Film, C.I.C.A.E Art Cinema Award - Vilnius FF 2015, Award of the City of Wiesbaden for Best Director, FIPRESCI Award - goEast Wiesbaden 2015, Best Film - Neisse FF, Seyfi Teoman Award for the bravest first or second feature film - European FF Palić etc.)
“European Film Academy is respected European organization. Its members are established and prestigious European filmmakers – their decision is expression of the trust to our film and we feel very thankful. We honestly appreciate it,” said the director Ivan Ostrochovský.

Now, over the 3,000 members of the European Film Academy will vote for the nominations in the categories European Film, Director, Actor, Actress and Screenwriter. The nominations will then be announced on 7 November at the Seville European Film Festival in Spain. A 7-member jury will decide on the awards recipients in the categories European Cinematographer, Editor, Production Designer, Costume Designer, Composer and Sound Designer.

The 28th European Film Awards with the presentation of the winners will take place in Berlin on December 12.

Press Release: EFA Selection 2015

Related AIC links:
Slovak National Nominations for the EFA Awards 2015

published: 08.09.2015
updated: 09.09.2015